Iowa West District

In 2000 the Board of Directors adopted “A Harvest of Joy” as its vision for the future of the District using the following verse from God’s Word as its theme:

For the LORD your God will bless you in all your harvest, and in all the work of your hands, and your joy will be complete. (Deut. 16:15)

Iowa West District 2015 Convention

Milford, Iowa — Decisions focused on outreach to others at the Iowa District West of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod convention, which was held earlier this week in Milford.

Convention delegates elected a new District President, the Reverend Doctor Steven Turner, pastor of Trinity Lutheran Church, Algona. Turner had previously served as First Vice-President of the District, along with other leadership positions in the District.

Turner is joined by the Reverend Roger Carlisle, pastor of Peace Lutheran Church, Wall Lake. Carlisle was serving as Second Vice-President at the time of his election. The Rev. Paul Egger, pastor of St. John Lutheran Church, Galva was elected to the position of Second Vice-President.

Among the highlights of the convention:
La Iglesia Evangelica Luterana Amigos en Cristo (Friends in Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church), Denison, was received into membership as a new congregation of Iowa District West. Pastor Dan Vogel and members of the church were present to represent the congregation at its reception.

Delegates adopted resolutions under The LCMS three-fold emphasis “Witness, Mercy, Life-together”, including one resolution that continues to affirm a mission outpost attitude among the members and congregations of the district; another resolution that challenges congregations to make plans for specific, intentional acts of mercy each year; and a resolution to support district-owned-and-operated Camp Okoboji, as it observes its 75th anniversary and pursues a 2.8 million dollar Capital Campaign.

Additional resolutions were passed that focused on witness/outreach/ministry to and with specific people groups such as Hispanics, the deaf, returning military, the unchurched, children, and those affected by natural disasters. Resources committed to these target areas include both financial, programmatic, and people–equipped and motivated to be involved in these efforts to bring the joy of salvation to others.

Out-going President, the Reverend Paul Sieveking, was honored for his 39 years of service to the district, which include the past 15 years as District President. Sieveking did not seek reelection. He was designated as President Emeritus at the conclusion of the convention. President Sieveking and his wife Sue will be retiring to the St. Louis area where he will be taking a part-time position as chaplain at Concordia Seminary.

The Iowa West District of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod comprises the western half of Iowa. It includes over 62,000 members in 176 congregations. There are also 42 parochial preschools and 9 elementary schools. (Source:

409 Kenyon Road, Suite B
Fort Dodge, IA 50501

Phone Numbers:
Telephone: (515) 576-7666
Fax: (515) 576-2323